South West - return to practice programmes

The programme will take approximately three months to complete, although some people may take longer depending on clinical placement hours required and the length of time out of practice and length of time previously in practice. The courses may also be flexible to fit around existing commitments, such as childcare.

How much will this cost?

We will fund all of the course fees. If you are a returning nurse will also provide you with £1,000 of financial support, this is paid in two parts and can be used for childcare, travel, books and the like, while you are on the programme. If you are a returning midwife or health visitor then you will receive £500 financial support.

If you are employed permanently by your RTP placement organisation following successfully re-registration, then we will provide funding to that organisation to support any preceptorship programme it may run.

People returning to practice as nurses and midwives may also be eligible for support from the Cavell Nurses' Trust. If you are a qualified nurse with three years or more post registration experience in the UK, undertaking a return to practice course and as a result find yourself in financial hardship, have less than £4,000 in savings then the trust may be able to assist with a one-off award towards your daily living expenses.

How do I apply?

Please read through the frequently asked questions as this will help you with your application.

You will need to apply to employers who are recruiting to a return to practice post. They will advertise on the NHS Jobs website and may also advertise locally. You could also contact employers directly – see below for contact details. The employer will then interview you along with the university offering the academic programme. Following a successful recruitment process you will be offered a place on the programme.

If there is something we have missed about return to practice in the south west then please contact us on ReturntoPractice.SW@hee.nhs.uk.

Organisations providing placements

This is not an exhaustive list and it is always worth you contacting an employer directly if you would like to work for them or have your return to practice placement with them.

2gether NHS Foundation Trust

Christian Betteridge
chris.betteridge@nhs.net
07769 110 941

Avon and Wiltshire Mental Health Partnership NHS Trust

Anita Hudson
anita.hudson@nhs.net
07827 280 609

BMI Bath Clinic

Liz Monaghan or Michele Brown
elizabeth.monaghan@bmihealthcare.co.uk or michele.brown@bmihealthcare.co.uk
01225 835 555

Bristol Community Health

James Salmons
james.salmons@nhs.net
0117 900 2168

Care UK

Neil Andrews
neil.andrews@careuk.com
07850 016 354

Cornwall Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Philippa Holmes
pj.holmes-crips@nhs.net
07973 913 487

Sally Wilson

sally.wilson23@nhs.net 

 01726 873204

Royal Cornwall NHS Hospital Trust

Helen Lewis

helen.lewis22@nhs.net

01872 255148

Devon Partnership NHS Trust

Ami Speyer or Paul Blackmore
ami.speyer@nhs.net or paulblackmore@nhs.net
01392 208 658 

Gloucestershire Care Services NHS Trust

Karen Pudge
karen.pudge@glos-care.nhs.uk
0300 421 6593

Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Diana Thomas
diana.thomas@glos.nhs.uk
0300 422 6307

Great Western Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (including Swindon and Wiltshire Community)

Shelly Knight
shelly.knight1@nhs.net
01793 604 437

Hathaway Medical Centre

Karen Manders
karen.manders@nhs.net
08444 120 023

Livewell South West CIC

Virginia Stiff
virginia.stiff@nhs.net
01752 434 994

North Bristol NHS Trust

Heather Tyler or Sue Crew
ReturntoPractice@nbt.nhs.uk
0117 342 7722

Northern Devon Healthcare NHS Trust

Sue Barbour
sue.barbour@nhs.net
01392 356 911

Royal Devon and Exeter NHS Foundation Trust

Alison Copp

a.copp@nhs.net

01392 408140

North Devon Hospice

Caroline Hales

carolinehales@northdevonhospice.org.uk

01271 344248  

North Somerset Community Partnership CIC

Sofia Salim
sofia.salim@nsomersetcp-cic.nhs.uk
01275 813 878

Nuffield Health

Hayley Ashton
hayley.ashton@nuffieldhealth.com
07775 772 325

Peninsula Community Health

Philippa Holmes
pj.holmes-crips@nhs.net
01726 627 634

Plymouth Hospitals NHS Trust

Henrietta Ferguson
hferguson@nhs.net
01752 437 131

Royal Devon and Exeter NHS Foundation Trust

Alison Copp
a.copp@nhs.net
01392 408140

Royal United Hospital Bath NHS Trust

Jan Lyn
janlynn@nhs.net
01225 821 792

Sirona care & health CIC

Aumir Masud
Aumir.Masud@sirona-cic.org.uk
01225 831 487

Somerset Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Sue Rapsey

sue.rapsey@sompar.nhs.uk

01278 437 140

St Margaret’s Hospice

Sheena Murphy-Collett
sheena.murphy-collett@st-margarets-hospice.org.uk
01823 365 618

Taunton and Somerset NHS Trust

Wendy Powell
wendy.powell@tst.nhs.uk
01823 344 566

Torbay and South Devon NHS Foundation Trust

 Ruth Nicholls, or Elaine Cheetham
ruthnicholls@nhs.net, or elainecheetham@nhs.net
 01803 656 677

University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust

Fiona Trigomedis-Powell or Deborah Tunnell
fiona.trigomedisPowell@UHBristol.nhs.uk or deborah.tunnell@uhbristol.nhs.uk
01173 34 21558 or 01173 423 616

Weston Area Health Trust

Susie Milton
susie.milton@nhs.net
01934 636 363 Ext. 5691

Weston Hospicecare

John Bailey
john.bailey@westonhospicecare.co.uk
01934 423 900

Yeovil District Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Ed Moore
edward.moore@ydh.nhs.uk
01935 383 430

Universities running a return to practice course

The RTP course you attend will depend upon where the organisation offering you the RTP vacancy is based. For organisation based in Cornwall and Devon it would be Plymouth University.

For all other organisations in the South West it would be the University of the West of England.

All other enquiries should be directed to the national Return to Practice team on 0121 695 2221 or ReturnToPractice@wm.hee.nhs.uk.

Follow us for the latest news and events

Developing people for health and healthcare

NHS Constitution