North East - return to practice programmes

The RtP Programme

If you have been a Registered Nurse previously and wish to return to the profession, then you may need to undertake a Return to Practice (RtP) programme. The programme is essentially a period of updating your skills and knowledge so that you can become re-registered and return to work in nursing.

The Return to Practice programme is a combination of classroom and placement-based learning. Hours on placement will vary and depend on how long you have been off the NMC register. These will be negotiated with you on an individual basis.

The programme will take approximately three to six months to complete, depending on clinical placement hours required and the length of time out of practice and length of time previously in practice. The courses will also be flexible to fit around existing commitments, such as childcare.

If you wish to discuss your Return to Practice needs, please contact the Return to Practice Lead, Laura Watkins on 0191 275 4630 or email returntopractice.north@hee.nhs.uk. Further information can be found by contacting the universities delivering this programme.

How is the course funded?

We will fund all course fees, with an additional £500 of financial support for each learner on the programme.

How do I apply?

Applications and any queries relating to Return to Practice programmes can be directed to the relevant university. The university will assist you in identifying your learning requirements and help you source an appropriate placement within a healthcare organisation. 

 

Universities that run the return to practice programme

Teesside University

Contact: Kay Scott

Email: kay.scott@tees.ac.uk or telephone 01642 384953

https://www.tees.ac.uk/parttime_courses/Health_&_Social_Care/UCPD_Return_to_Practice_(Degree_Level).cfm

 

Northumbria University

Contact: Maggie Coates

Email maggie.coates@northumbria.co.uk

https://www.northumbria.ac.uk/study-at-northumbria/continuing-professional-development-short-courses-specialist-training/return-to-professional-practice-in-health---level-6---ac6653/

 

Trusts offering return to practice course placements:

Northumberland Tyne and Wear NHS Foundation Trust

St Nicholas Hospital
Jubilee Road
Gosforth
Newcastle upon Tyne
NE3 3XT
0191 2456777

Alan Law: alan.law@ntw.nhs.uk

Corinna McCreton: Corinna.McCreton@ntw.nhs.uk

Pauline Carr: Pauline.Carr@ntw.nhs.uk

 

The Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Regent Point
First Floor, Regent Farm Road
Gosforth
Newcastle
NE3 3HD
0191-2820999 (Option 1)

Sorcha McLaughlin: sorcha.Mclaughlin@nuth.nhs.uk

Glenda Bestford: glenda.bestford@nuth.nhs.uk

 

Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Human Resources Department
Northumbria House
7/8 Silver Fox Way, Cobalt Business Park
Newcastle upon Tyne
NE27 OQJ
0191 2031415 Option 2

Gillian Bell:Gillian.Bell@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk

Gillian Hall: Gillian.Hall@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk

Marie McKeown: Marie.McKeown@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk

 

South Tyneside NHS Foundation Trust

South Tyneside District Hospital
Harton Lane
South Shields
NE34 0PL
0191 4041070

Gill Franklin: gillian.franklin@stft.nhs.uk

Lisa English: Lisa.English@stft.nhs.uk

 

City Hospitals Sunderland NHS Foundation Trust

Trust Headquarters
Sunderland Royal Hospital
Kayll Road
Sunderland
Tyne & Wear
SR4 7TP
0191 5656256 (ext 42591)

Sonia Malt: Sonia.Malt@chsft.nhs.uk

 

County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust

Darlington Memorial Hospital
Hollyhurst Road
Darlington
Durham
DL3 6HX
01388 458835

Kay Bloomfield:  kay.bloomfield@nhs.net

Heather Watson: heather.watson3@nhs.net

 

North Tees and Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust

University Hospital of North Tees
Hardwick
Stockton –on –Tees
TS19 8PE
01642 617617

Jean Angus: Jean.Angus@nth.nhs.uk

Karen Smith: karen.smith16@nhs.net

 

South Tees Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Marton Rd
Middlesbrough
TS4 3BW
01642 854062

Helen Robinson: helen.robinson22@nhs.net

Mel Gannon: Melanie.Gannon@stees.nhs.uk

Further information is available on South Tees Foundation Trust's website.

 

Tees, Esk and Wear Valleys NHS Foundation Trust

Flatts Lane Centre
Flatts Lane
Normanby
Middlesbrough
TS6 0SZ
01642 288288

Bernadette Wallace: bernadette.wallace@nhs.net

 

Gateshead Health NHS Foundation Trust

Queen Elizabeth Hospital
Sheriff Hill
Gateshead
Tyne & Wear
NE9 6SX
0191 482 0000

Yvonne Tamburro: Yvonne.tamburro@ghnt.nhs.uk

Hayley McArdle :  Hayley.mcardle@ghnt.nhs.uk


Join our social media pages for more live information and news on events

www.facebook.com/nhshee

www.instagram.com/nhshee

www.twitter.com/nhs_healthedeng  #ComeBackToNursing #IAmReadyToReturn

https://www.linkedin.com/company/health-education-england


 

Developing people for health and healthcare

NHS Constitution