Wessex - return to practice programmes

The return to practice programme:

If you have a lapsed Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) registration and would like to be able to re-register and come back to nursing, contact your preferred NHS organisation from the contact lists below for more information.
Working with our one of our University partners Bournemouth University or the University of Southampton, an NHS organisation will support you through both the academic and clinical practice requirements to allow you to re-join the nursing register.

The courses will take approximately three months to complete, although some people may take longer depending on clinical placement hours required and the length of time out of practice and length of time previously in practice. The courses will also be flexible to fit around existing commitments, such as childcare.

How is the course funded?

From January 2015, the university fees for adult, child, - mental health or learning disability nurses will be paid for by Health Education Wessex and students will receive £500 funding to support access to the placement experience required. 

How do I apply?

Make contact with your preferred trust, nursing home or GP surgery via the contacts below for further guidance. You might want to speak to more than one organisation to compare programmes and find one that fits with you. Remember that as well as our acute hospitals, trusts which provide community health services also provide return to practice placements for all nurses. You may also want to consider returning to work in primary care as a GP practice nurse.

Universities who run the return to practice programme:

Bournemouth University                                              

Email address: hscpostregadmissions@bournemouth.ac.uk

Telephone: 01202 962036

Contact the university for details of forthcoming courses.

https://www1.bournemouth.ac.uk/study/courses/return-practice-nursing-level-6-credits

Southampton University

 

Contact: Lulu Greaves

Email address: L.Greaves@soton.ac.uk

Contact the university for details of forthcoming courses.

http://www.southampton.ac.uk/alps/practice_placements/return_to_practice/index.page

 

List of Trusts offering Return to practice course placements:

Dorset County Hospital NHS Foundation Trust - 01305 254686

Caroline Foot - caroline.foot@dchft.nhs.uk
Elaine Hartley - elaine.hartley@dchft.nhs.uk
 

Dorset Healthcare University NHS Foundation Trust - 01202 277198

Alex Matutino alex.matutino@dhuft.nhs.uk

Hampshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust - 01256 852642

Sharon Goodchild sharon.goodchild@hhft.nhs.uk

Isle of Wight NHS Trust - 01908 822099 ext 6428 or ext 2433

Donna Baker - donna.baker@iow.nhs.uk

Sarah Johnstone - sarah.johnston@iow.nhs.uk

Poole Hospital NHS Foundation Trust - 01202 448770

Julie Childs - julie.childs@poole.nhs.uk

Royal Bournemouth and Christchurch Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust - 01202 704004

Elaine Pearce - elaine.pearce@rbch.nhs.uk

Babs Pearce - babs.pearce@rbch.nhs.uk

Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust – 023 9228 6000 ext 1186 or ext 4023

Jill Pallister

Scott Hawes

practicebased.learning@porthosp.nhs.uk

Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust - 01722 336 262 ext 2611

Juliet Borwell - juliet.borwell@salisbury.nhs.uk

Solent NHS Trust - 0300 123 3799

Kate Then  kate.then@solent.nhs.uk

Southern Health NHS Foundation Trust – 023 8087 4351

Ian Winkworth - Ian.winkworth@southernhealth.nhs.uk

University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust

Clare Aspden - 023 8120 8673

returntopractice@uhs.nhs.uk

General Practice Nurses - 023 9228 2080

Sue Clarke susan.clarke17@nhs.net

St Michael's Hospice - 01256 844744

Basil de Ferranti House

Aldermaston Road

Basingstoke, RG24 9NB

Erika Bowker Erika.bowker@stmichaelshospice.org.uk

 

HEE local office website link:

http://wessex.hee.nhs.uk/our-work/return-to-practice-nursing/

HEE return to practice lead in Wessex:

Caroline Lee – RtP Lead

Email: rtp@wessex.hee.nhs.uk


All other enquiries

Email: ReturnToPractice@wm.hee.nhs.uk

RtP National Line: 0121 695 2221

 

Join our facebook and twitter page for more live information and news on events

Twitter: https://twitter.com/NHS_HealthEdEng  #ComeBackToNursing

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/nhshee?fref=ts

LinkedIn Return to Practice 


 

 

Developing people for health and healthcare

NHS Constitution