North East - return to practice programmes

The return to practice programme:

The return to practice programme is a combination of classroom and placement based learning. Hours on placement will vary and depend on how long you have been off the NMC register. These will be negotiated with you on an individual basis. The programme may take up to 6 months to complete. Further information can be found at individual Universities delivering this programme.

How is the course funded?

We will fund all of the course fees, with an additional £500 of financial support for each learner on the programme.

How do I apply?

If you wish to discuss your Return to Practice needs, please contact the Return to Practice Lead, Joy McGurk on 0191 275 4668 or email returntopractice.ne@hee.nhs.uk

 

Universities who run the return to practice programme

Teesside University

If you would like to discuss the programme before applying, attend one of Teesside's information sessions on 4 October, 18 October or 8 November - more information to follow. You can also email kay.scott@tees.ac.uk or call Kay on 01642 384953

The next course is scheduled for September 2017.  For further information and application details please visit Teesside University's website

Northumbria University

If you would like to discuss the programme before applying, attend one of Northumbria's information sessions on 27 October 2017 or 8 January 2018 - more details to follow. 

The next available course is scheduled for March 2018.  For further information email joy.campbell@northumbria.ac.uk or maggie.coates@northumbria.co.uk

For further details please  visit Northumbria University's website, download the application form and return to hs.cipdinfo@northumbria.ac.uk 

Trusts offering return to practice course placements:

Northumberland Tyne and Wear NHS Foundation Trust

St Nicholas Hospital
Jubilee Road
Gosforth
Newcastle upon Tyne
NE3 3XT
0191 2456777

Alan Law: alan.law@ntw.nhs.uk

Corinna McCreton: Corinna.McCreton@ntw.nhs.uk

Pauline Carr: Pauline.Carr@ntw.nhs.uk

The Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Regent Point
First Floor, Regent Farm Road
Gosforth
Newcastle
NE3 3HD
0191-2820999 (Option 1)

Sorcha McLaughlin: sorcha.Mclaughlin@nuth.nhs.uk

Glenda Bestford: glenda.bestford@nuth.nhs.uk

Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Human Resources Department
Northumbria House
7/8 Silver Fox Way, Cobalt Business Park
Newcastle upon Tyne
NE27 OQJ
0191 2031415 Option 2

Gillian Bell:Gillian.Bell@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk

Gillian Hall: Gillian.Hall@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk

Marie McKeown: Marie.McKeown@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk

South Tyneside NHS Foundation Trust

South Tyneside District Hospital
Harton Lane
South Shields
NE34 0PL
0191 4041070

Gill Franklin: gillian.franklin@stft.nhs.uk

Lisa English: Lisa.English@stft.nhs.uk

City Hospitals Sunderland NHS Foundation Trust

Trust Headquarters
Sunderland Royal Hospital
Kayll Road
Sunderland
Tyne & Wear
SR4 7TP
0191 5656256 (ext 42591)

Sonia Malt: Sonia.Malt@chsft.nhs.uk

County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust

Darlington Memorial Hospital
Hollyhurst Road
Darlington
Durham
DL3 6HX
01388 458835

Kay Bloomfield:  kay.bloomfield@nhs.net

Heather Watson: heather.watson3@nhs.net

North Tees and Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust

University Hospital of North Tees
Hardwick
Stockton –on –Tees
TS19 8PE
01642 617617

Jean Angus: Jean.Angus@nth.nhs.uk

Karen Smith: karen.smith16@nhs.net

South Tees Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Marton Rd
Middlesbrough
TS4 3BW
01642 854062

Jula Axford: Jula.Axford@stees.nhs.uk

Mel Gannon: Melanie.Gannon@stees.nhs.uk

Further information is available on South Tees Foundation Trust's website.

Tees, Esk and Wear Valleys NHS Foundation Trust

Flatts Lane Centre
Flatts Lane
Normanby
Middlesbrough
TS6 0SZ
01642 288288

Bernadette Wallace: bernadette.wallace@nhs.net

Gateshead Health NHS Foundation Trust

Queen Elizabeth Hospital
Sheriff Hill
Gateshead
Tyne & Wear
NE9 6SX
0191 482 0000

Yvonne Tamburro: Yvonne.tamburro@ghnt.nhs.uk

Hayley McArdle :  Hayley.mcardle@ghnt.nhs.uk

 


All other enquiries

Email: ReturnToPractice@wm.hee.nhs.uk

RtP National Line: 0121 695 2221


Join our facebook and twitter page for more live information and news on events

Twitter: https://twitter.com/NHS_HealthEdEng  #ComeBackToNursing

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/nhshee?fref=ts

LinkedIn Return to Practice 


 

Developing people for health and healthcare

NHS Constitution