South West - return to practice programmes

The return to practice programme:

 

The programme will take approximately three months to complete, although some people may take longer depending on clinical placement hours required and the length of time out of practice and length of time previously in practice. The courses may also be flexible to fit around existing commitments, such as childcare.

 

How much will this cost?

 

We will fund all of the course fees. If you are a returning nurse will also provide you with £1,000 of financial support, this is paid in two parts and can be used for childcare, travel, books and the like, while you are on the programme.  If you are a returning midwife or health visitor then you will receive £500 financial support.

If you are employed permanently by your RTP placement organisation following successfully re-registration, then we will provide funding to that organisation to support any preceptorship programme it may run. 

People returning to practice as nurses and midwives may also be eligible for support from the Cavell Nurses' Trust. If you are a qualified nurse with three years or more post registration experience in the UK, undertaking a return to practice course and as a result find yourself in financial hardship, have less than £4,000 in savings then the trust may be able to assist with a one-off award towards your daily living expenses. Visit https://www.cavellnursestrust.org/grants to apply or find out more.

How do I apply?

Please read through the frequently asked questions as this will help you with your application.

You will need to apply to employers who are recruiting to a return to practice post. They will advertise on the NHS Jobs website (www.jobs.nhs.uk) and may also advertise locally. You could also contact employers directly – see below for contact details. The employer will then interview you along with the university offering the academic programme. Following a successful recruitment process you will be offered a place on the programme.

If there is something we have missed about return to practice in the south west then please contact us on ReturntoPractice@southwest.hee.nhs.uk

 

 Organisations providing placements:

This is not an exhaustive list and it is always worth you contacting an employer directly if you would like to work for them or have your return to practice placement with them.

Peninsula Community Health

Philippa Holmes

pj.holmes-Crips@nhs.net

01726 627634

Cornwall Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Philippa Holmes

pj.holmes-Crips@nhs.net

01726 627634

 

Nuffield Health
Hayley Ashton

Hayley.Ashton@nuffieldhealth.com

07775 772325

 

Plymouth Community Healthcare CIC
Sara Mitchell

sara.mitchell2@nhs.net
01752 435353

Royal Devon and Exeter NHS Foundation Trust
Alison Copp

a.copp@nhs.net

01392 408140

 

Torbay & South Devon Foundation Trust
Jane Gidman
Ruth Nicholls
Elaine Cheetham

jane.gidman@nhs.net
ruthnicholls@nhs.net
elainecheetham@nhs.net

01803 656647
01803 656677

 

Northern Devon Healthcare NHS Trust

Sue Barbour

sue.barbour@nhs.net

01392 356911

 

Plymouth Hospitals NHS Trust

Henrietta Ferguson     

hferguson@nhs.net

01752 437131

Devon Partnership NHS Trust

Ami Speyer
Julie Hughes

Ami.speyer@nhs.net
j.hughes11@nhs.net 

01392 208658
01392 674943

Care UK
Neil Andrews

neil.andrews@careuk.com

07850 016354

 

North Devon Hospice
Caroline Hales

carolinehales@northdevonhospice.org.uk
01271 344248

 

North Bristol NHS Trust

Heather Tyler
Sue Crew

ReturntoPractice@nbt.nhs.uk

0117 342 7722

 

University Hospitals Bristol NHS Trust

Colleen Paviour
Deborah Tunnell

colleen.paviour@uhbristol.nhs.uk
Deborah.tunnell@uhbristol.nhs.uk

01173 423601/3616

 

North Somerset Community Partnership CIC

Sofia Salim

Sofia.salim@nsomersetcp-cic.nhs.uk

Training Department:
01275 813878

 

Weston Area Health Trust

Susie Milton

susie.milton@nhs.net

01934 636363 Ext. 5691

 

Weston Hospicecare
John Bailey

john.bailey@westonhospicecare.co.uk

01934 423900

 

Somerset Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
Sue Rapsey

sue.rapsey@sompar.nhs.uk

01278 437140

 

Taunton and Somerset NHS Trust

Wendy Powell

wendy.powell@tst.nhs.uk

01823 344566

 

St Margaret’s Hospice

Sheena Murphy-Collett

Sheena.Murphy-Collett@st-margarets-hospice.org.uk

01823 365618

 

Yeovil District Hospital
Ed Moore

edward.moore@ydh.nhs.uk

01935 383430

 

Royal United Hospital Bath NHS Trust
Jan Lyn

janlynn@nhs.net

01225 821792

 

Sirona
Aumir Masud

Aumir.Masud@sirona-cic.org.uk 

01225 831487

 

BMI Bath Clinic
Liz Monaghan
Michele Brown

elizabeth.monaghan@bmihealthcare.co.uk;
michele.brown@bmihealthcare.co.uk

01225 835555
01225 835555

 

 

2gether NHS Foundation Trust
Christian Betteridge

chris.betteridge@nhs.net

07769 110 941

 

Gloucestershire Care Services NHS Trust
Karen Pudge

karen.pudge@glos-care.nhs.uk

0300 4216593

 

Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Diana Thomas

Diana.thomas@glos.nhs.uk
0300 422 6307

 

Great Western Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (including Swindon and Wiltshire Community)
Shelly Knight

shelly.knight1@nhs.net

01793 604437

 

Hathaway Medical Centre

Karen Manders

karen.manders@nhs.net

08444 120023

 

Avon and Wiltshire Mental Health Partnership NHS Trust
Sarah Parks

sarah.parks@nhs.net

07827 280609

 

Nuffield Health
Hayley Ashton

Hayley.Ashton@nuffieldhealth.com

07775 772325

 

Care UK
Neil Andrews

neil.andrews@careuk.com

07850 016354

 

Universities who run the return to practice course:

 

The RTP course you attend will depend upon where the organisation offering you the RTP vacancy is based.  For organisation based in Cornwall and Devon it would be: 

 

Plymouth University https://www.plymouth.ac.uk/your-university/about-us/university-structure/faculties/health-human-sciences/return-to-practice

 

For all other organisations in the South West it would be:

University of the West of England http://www1.uwe.ac.uk/students/practicesupportnet/guidancebyprogramme/returntopracticenurses.aspx

All other enquiries: 

 

ReturnToPractice@wm.hee.nhs.uk

RtP National Line: 0121 695 2221

Join our facebook and twitter page for more live information and news on events

Twitter: https://twitter.com/NHS_HealthEdEng  #ComeBackToNursing

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/nhshee?fref=ts

LinkedIn Return to Practice 

 

 

Developing people for health and healthcare

NHS Constitution